Scholars at Risk

Titleimage: Scholars at Risk

Scholars at Risk (SAR) is an international network of higher education institutions - including the University of Bern - whose mission is to support scholars that are being threatened or are in danger in their home countries. SAR and the University of Bern are both committed to academic freedom in teaching and research and human rights.

The SAR network was launched in 2000 and has its headquarters at the New York University. SAR counts some 500 universities among its members. The University of Bern joined in 2016.

One of SAR's main goals is to arrange temporary academic positions at member universities and colleges for endangered scholars. Through such stays, the network and host universities enable researchers to continue their academic career even in difficult situations.

SAR campaigns for scholars that are imprisoned or silenced in their home countries. It also supports public-relations activities at universities on academic freedom and human rights, conducts research and lobbies on these issues.

The network has received 2,000 requests so far from researchers in 120 countries. Some 700 researchers have been supported by SAR and its members. The majority of these scholars are from North Africa, the Middle East, Sub-Saharan Africa and South Asia.

Individual scholars that need protection may apply for support through the international Scholars at Risk website. The SAR network will assess the application and assist in finding a host institution if the candidate is accepted.

The Swiss higher education institutions and other SAR members form the SAR Swiss Section. More information can be found here.

Refugee scholars that would like to study at the University of Bern can find further information here.

Scholars at Risk

Titelbild: Scholars at Risk

Scholars at Risk (SAR) ist ein internationales Netzwerk von Hochschulen, das Forschende und Lehrende, die in ihren Heimatländern bedroht oder verfolgt werden, unterstützt. SAR und die Universität Bern setzen sich für akademische Freiheit in Lehre und Forschung und für Menschenrechte ein.

SAR wurde 2000 gegründet; angesiedelt ist die Organisation an der University New York. Gegen 500 Universitäten sind Mitglied bei Scholars at Risk und seit 2016 die Universität Bern.

Ein Schwerpunkt von SAR ist die Vermittlung von verfolgten Forschenden an Hochschulen. Gemeinsam mit Universitäten ermöglicht SAR gefährdeten Forschenden Gastaufenthalte, um ihre universitäre Karriere auch unter schwierigen Bedingungen fortzusetzen.

SAR führt Kampagnen für in ihren Heimatländern gefangene Wissenschaftlerinnen oder Wissenschaftler durch. Zudem fördert Scholars at Risk die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit an Hochschulen zu Forschungsfreiheit und Menschenrechten, und arbeitet als Lobbyistin und an Forschungsprojekten dieser Thematik. 

Das Netzwerk hat bisher 2'000 Anfragen von Forschenden aus 120 Ländern erhalten. SAR und ihre Mitglieder konnten 700 Forschende unterstützen. Die Mehrheit der Forschenden stammen aus Nordafrika und dem Mittleren Osten, gefolgt von Schwarzafrika und Südasien.

Gefährdete oder verfolgte Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die Hilfe benötigen wenden sich direkt an die internationale Website von Scholars at Risk. SAR prüft den Antrag und unterstützt akzeptierte Kandidat/innen, indem SAR sie an  Gastinstitution vermittelt.

Schweizer Hochschulen und Mitglieder von SAR sind Teil der Schweizer SAR Sektion. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Geflüchtete Personen, die an der Universität Bern studieren möchten finden hier weitere Auskünfte.